Wine Lovers Dinner Night
Although there has been a dwelling of some kind on this site for centuries, Knockderry House as it stands today (meaning ‘hill of oak’ in Gaelic) was originally built around 1846 as a summer retreat.
In 1890 Mr D Anderson, a wealthy wool merchant, decided to upgrade the house in the fashion of the day and asked the well-known architect William Leiper to draw up plans. The Guest Lounge – and the rooms above – were added at that time along with all the turrets and towers that give the house its current distinctive look.
The Lounge Bar was originally the Music Room and Chapel and still retains many of the original features as does the Billiard Room and the Dining Room, which boasts stained glass by James Guthrie Jnr and Daniel Cottier.